My Life as a College Student in Sunny Florida【2】

こんにちは。新橋校インストラクターのTabithaです。
本日は私の大学生活のお話し第二弾です。

My Typical Day as a College Student

I graduated from Florida State University. The main campus is located about 2 hours away from Panama City Beach in the state capital Tallahassee, but they have a branch campus in my town. I lived off campus in a spacious 2 bedroom apartment with my best friend and dog. We paid only $600 for a 2 bedroom apartment with a large dining room, two bathrooms, and a nice kitchen (with an oven!). I had a Ford SUV that I drove everywhere. There are no trains or buses in my town, so if you don’t have a car you cannot get anywhere. Maybe three times a week I drove about 15 minutes to my university, attended my classes, and after I would go back home or eat out with my friends. In my free time, especially on the weekends, I went to house parties. House parties are big parties (About 15-50 people), typically held by people in their early 20s. There is usually very loud music, a lot of alcohol, and people playing drinks games. It is a very vibrant and fun atmosphere where you can meet new people and get a little crazy. At night, if I wasn’t studying or at a house party, you could find me at a live music show. Maybe 3 times a month, me and my friends would drive to a nearby city and see our favorite bands or singers for only about $15. The same bands come to Tokyo sometime, but it is so much more expensive, maybe \6,000! I really miss going to live music shows in America… During the daytime, if I wasn’t in class, then I was most likely at the beach.

私はフロリダ州立大学を卒業しました。メインキャンパスはパナマシティビーチから約2時間離れた州都のタラハシーにありましたが、私の街にもサブキャンパスがありました。私は大学の近くで親友と犬と一緒に広いベッドルームと洗面所が2つずつと、ダイニング、オーブンがついたキッチンがついたアパートに住んでいました。それにフォードのSUVに乗ってどこへでも行けました。私の街には、バスも電車もなかったので、車がなかったらどこへも行けなかったのです。1週間で3日は15分ほど車を運転して大学へ行ってクラスに出席し、その後家へ帰るか友達とディナーを食べに行ったりしました。暇な時間、特に週末はハウスパーティーによく行っていました。ハウスパーティーは大きいパーティーで15~50人程で、20代前半の若者によって開催されます。たいてい、パーティーでは爆音で音楽が流れ、たくさんのお酒があり飲みゲームを楽しみます。そこでは少しクレイジーになって新しい友達を作るなど、楽しい雰囲気を楽しんでいました。夜に、勉強したりハウスパーティーに行ったりしていなかったときは、ミュージックライブショーによくいっていました。たぶん月に3回くらいは私と友達は良く近くの街はでドライブして好きなバンドやシンガーに15ドルで会いに行っていました。同じバンドが時々東京にも来ますが、6,000円ととっても高いです。アメリカのライブミュージックショーに行くのが懐かしいです。平日でクラスに出席していない時には、だいたいビーチにいました。

第2弾はここまで!第3弾もお楽しみに(^^♪

My Life as a College Student in Sunny Florida【2】