Fun Facts about Canada Part I

Hello! It’s Morgan from Shinbashi school! Today I want to introduce my beautiful country to you all. Although Canada and America are similar, they are still two separate countries with different history, culture and language.
In this blog I want to give fun facts to help people distinguish the difference!


10 Fun Facts about Canada Part1

1)Did you know Canada is actually larger than America in size? It’s true! This is because of all the ice and lakes we have! However, population-wise, Canada is a lot smaller. The entire population of Canada is smaller than the number of people living in just California State alone!


2)In Canada, we say Prime Minister, not President. Our current Prime Minister is Justin Trudeau. And he’s good-looking too!


3)In Canada we say provinces, not states.


4)Canada has 10 provinces and 3 territories.


The provinces are in the lower, more habitable half of Canada. From West to East they are: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and, finally, Newfoundland and Labrador.


The territories are in the upper part in Canada, where is tends to be colder. From West to East they are: Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut.


5)Each province and territory has a capital city, but the capital of all of Canada is Ottawa, not Toronto (although it is the biggest city in Canada).


6)In Canada, we use the metric system (Celsius, kilometers). However, we still use feet and inches to talk about height!


7)Canada is part of the Commonwealth. Long live the queen! (・。・)>


8)We have 2 official languages: Canadian English and French! However, since Canada has many Aboriginal populations, we have many regional languages!


9)Canadian English is closer to British English; we tend to spell and pronounce words the same way as them. For example, we keep the ‘u’ in words like colour, favourite: AMERICAN – color, CANADIAN/BRITISH – colour.


10)We have 4 seasons (it’s not just all snow in Canada)! It’s not always cold there!


Bonus Fact: Canada has 2 national animals. Can you guess? They are the beaver, and the Canadian Horse!


Because there is so much fun information about Canada, this blog will be split into 2 parts! Keep watch for the part 2!


Fun Facts about Canada Part I